The Dorothy Gift

In honor of Dorothy Jane Center, and her great-granddaughter Dorothy Anne St. Claire. Dorothy Jane’s Puritan ancestors arrived in Boston in the 1620s and 1630s in order to practice their religion freely. Dorothy Anne is a bright, independent music lover with a skilled photographer’s eye. The inspiration of both of these women to delve deep and question reality, question existence, and question if there is a God, has led to the foundation of this scholarship.

Award amount is $1,000 yearly. Deadline for applications is the beginning of March (see here for details). The Dorothy Gift will be awarded by March 25.

Recipient Criteria:

  • A female undergraduate student.
  • Philosophy or Religious Studies major.
  • Cumulative grade point average minimum of 3.0 (on a 4.0 scale).
  • FAFSA on file with Iowa State University’s Student Financial Aid.
You must submit the General and College of Liberal Arts and Sciences portions of the OneApp to be considered for scholarships. Once submitted, look for these recommended scholarship opportunities awarded by the department.

  • The Dorothy Gift
  • Joan Dee Rottler Memorial Scholarship
  • Socrates Prize”

Apply here via ISU OneApp.

Past Winners

  • 2015: Caitlin Strand
  • 2016: Natalie Young
  • 2017: Katherine Lenson
  • 2018: Gillian Mohn