Socrates Scholarship

CATEGORIES: Philosophy Awards

The Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies offers an annual prize for the best philosophical paper written by an Iowa State student.

Application Procedure

Submit a paper electronically to Janet Krengel,, by noon on March 2, 2020.

Do not include your name in the paper. Use only your student ID number to identify yourself.

There is no restriction on paper topic or length. The paper may have been previously submitted in a philosophy course.

The winner will be notified by March 25, 2020.

Past Winners

  • 2014: Matt Maxwell
  • 2015: Joseph Porter and Matthew Anzis
  • 2017: Lazarus French and Andrew Miller
  • 2018: Graham Bacon and Colin Campbell